Daybook

In my backyard… there are four little monkeys hanging out in a pod.

february-2017-051_1_1

I am remembering… this little babysitter.  That’s Joey when he was just a few months old.  Phoebe kept by his side day and night watching over him.

phoebe-is-protecting-me_1_1

I am grateful for…Lori Concert at Miss Daisy’s Naturals and her beautiful gift of body butter that we offered up in a giveaway this week over on With Every Intention.  Some lucky gal is going to be slathering her body with that butter and loving the lavender scent that permeates the air.

Joey was delighted to be chosen to pull a name from the hat…if it’s up to my kids, we’ll have giveaways often just so they can take turns pulling names.

february-2017-015_1_1 february-2017-019_3_1 february-2017-021_4_2 february-2017-018_2_2

I am watching…Katie as she moves all her little figurines around, lost in a world of imagination.

I am listening…to Nim’s Island with the kids at lunch and Heart of Darkness on Audible.

I am wondering…why can’t I carve more time into my day???  So many podcasts to listen to, so many places to visit, so many things to do!

I am laughing…at William.  He was sitting beside me and he wrinkled his nose.  I asked him if he smelled something (as he has an incredibly sensitive nose) and he said, “No I was going to sneeze but I was a sneezer failure.”

I am reflecting…on the idea that “maybe the love gets in easier right where the heart’s broke open” from Ann Voskamp’s new book The Broken Way.  It’s a revolutionary thought…to imagine that brokenness leads to abundance but a thought that gives me hope and fills me with joy.

In the schoolroom…Next week is our week off.  I plan to use the scheduling cards from Sabbath Mood Homeschooling to lay out our CM schedule.  Hoping to post some CM scheduling help and ideas soon.  I am in love.

Around the house…Jessica came over yesterday and we prepared our Fire Cider together.  It looks beautiful but I dread tasting it…I know what’s in it and I’m just having hard time imagining what it will taste like.

february-2017-024_1_1 february-2017-029_2_1 february-2017-031_3_1

In the kitchen…William got up early this morning to whip up some homemade doughnuts for us.  He spread maple glaze over the top.  Delicious!

february-2017-056_1_1 february-2017-057_2_1

I am wearing…sea green Lularoe leggings and a sky blue sleeveless top.  ‘Cause it’s that warm here on this early February day.  Winter came and went so quickly I hardly even noticed it.

We are preparing for…a spring camping trip.  The weather has been gorgeous, the nights have been lovely and I’m aching to gaze at the stars without the twinkle of city lights.

Someday I am going to miss…the gangly arms and legs, the awkward way he moves…’cause one of these days he’s going to grow into it all and that little boy that I adore will be grown up.

february-2017-001_1_2

I am readingAmerica’s First Daughter, The Highly Sensitive Person, The Hiding Place and After You

One of my favorite things…tinkering with herbs with the kids.  Joey and I made a plantain salve this last week that we’ve already made good use of.

february-2017-007_1_1

A peek into my day…Jessica and I have been trying to watercolor paint together every once in awhile.  My artist skills needs some serious work.

february-2017-010_1_1

 

Please visit The Simple Woman’s Daybook for more daybook entries.

 

 

One thought on “Daybook

Leave a Reply

