Daybook

Outside my window…it’s September but no sign of fall anywhere near.  Today’s forecast was 91 with a heat index of 102.

I am thankful for…Mom.  She came down to sit with me while William had his surgery and then she survived a week with us…and she never once looked anything but happy and peaceful.  I don’t know how she does it, but I am certainly thankful to have such a calming presence in my life.

I am watching…Joey write spelling words on the board and William write thank you notes.

I am listening…to the sound of paper art (at least I hope we’ll be able to consider it art when it’s all done).  Paper being crumpled.  Paper being folded.  Paper being shuffled.  Katie and Andrew are hard at work drawing and writing.

I am wondering…why Katie refuses to wear her hair in a ponytail and why she won’t wear bows!  I finally have a girl and she won’t let me fix her hair (except for the 30 seconds here while she had her picture taken).september-2016-051_3_1

I am laughing…about this picture.  However, if you are not and you’d like to schedule an appointment with William’s hair styling, please let me know.  I happen to have a little extra pull…I can probably get you in.september-2016-058_1_1

I am reflecting…on our visit with Stephanie and Juancho and the philosophical discussion of school systems that took place (no need to alert the press as we did not solve the problem over breakfast, but we certainly did have a delightful discussion).  Stephanie and Juancho both teach in Houston and they are the loveliest of couples.  Both eager and bright, funny and adventurous, I guarantee that the kids who pass through their classrooms are lucky little souls.  I love that when they spend time with my kids, they take the time to listen and play and interact.  We are lucky little souls to have them in our lives!  september-2016-050_4_1

In the schoolroom…finishing up our first 6 weeks of school.  Looking forward to our week off next week.

Around the house…since William’s surgery, he has been having a hard time getting in and out of bed.  He decided that sleeping on the bottom bunk might work out, so he and Andrew decided to try it out (it works!).  It’s been quite awhile since we’ve used the bottom bunk, so I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but the duvet has been neglected.  Sadly, I noticed that the boys must have thrown a wet towel on the duvet and the burgundy color from the down comforter bled through to the duvet cover, so it needed a little soaking (in Shaklee’s Nature Bright, of course!) and washing.  Washing one cover nudged me to wash the next and then the next and then, well you get it.  Have I ever mentioned what a nightmare I think down comforters and duvet covers are, but oh, how I love to snuggle under them so I continue to struggle with them season after season.  It’s Friday and all the bedding has been changed and washed.  I’m expecting my washing machine to go on strike at any moment.

In the kitchen…homemade pizza with the Savory Spice Shop’s Parmesan Pesto Sprinkle.

On the dining room table…a Missouri puzzle, in preparation for our upcoming train trip.

I am wearing…a new shirt from Charming Charlie (seriously, my new favorite store!)

We are preparing for…our upcoming train trip.

Someday I am going to miss…random discoveries.  Like a shirt wrapped around a book and shoved on the bookshelf.  I have no words for this one.  september-2016-074_2_1

I am reading…Circling the Sun by Paula McLain and Discovering Your Personality Type by Don Richard Riso.  I can’t recommend either yet, as I just started both.

One of my favorite things…melon Gatorade.

A peek into my day…Joey on his way to our Charlotte Mason co-op yesterday.september-2016-072_1_1

Please visit The Simple Woman’s Daybook for more daybook entries.

 

 

Save

4 thoughts on “Daybook

  1. Oh my gosh, I love them all but tell Billy I am so disappointed that he didn’t do my hair while I was there. I love yours. I know, mine isn’t long enough to do anything with. But really????

  2. And thank you for saying such nice things about me. I guess that i took after my father in most things. My poor mother didn’t have the peaceful gene.

  3. We feel lucky to have you all in our lives and deeply regret that our visits are so short and so few! I love the way you write, it’s always fun to read your blog.
    Thank you for your kind words. We love you!!! Enjoy your train trip!

Leave a Reply

