No Sweeter Words

There are moments that I wish I could permanently etch into my mind.  Moments that remind me that I am loved.  I am cherished.  Today was one of those moments.

I was nursing Andrew, sitting with my feet up.  Joseph was sitting beside me, reading.  William was wandering aimlessly around, looking for something to get into.  It was quiet.  William disappeared down the hallway, only to reappear moments later with a bottle of lotion.  “Mommy,” he announced, “would it be okay if I gave you a massage?”  With my feet aching and a headache just beginning, I could not say no.  He hopped up on the couch beside me, squeezed some lotion into his tiny palms and began to rub his hands together.  “I’m going to rub you all over, Mommy!” he declared.  I just closed my eyes.  He massaged my legs, my arms, and then decided to rub my face.  “Just keep your eyes closed, Mommy.  I’ll tell you when you can open them.”  He hummed a little tune as he went about his work.  Then it was silent.  Completely silent.  His little fingers danced across my chin, my cheeks, my eyelids.  Then a whisper.  “Okay, Mommy, you can open your eyes.”  And I did.  There was William, not an inch away, our noses almost touching and in the stillness of the moment, he smiled and holding his hand out to my cheek, he whispered, “Mommy, you are my princess.  You are my darling.”  These are the moments that define me.

One thought on “No Sweeter Words

  1. That brought tears to my eyes. What a little sweetheart. He is very special. I wish that I had written down the things like that you girls said to me.

Leave a Reply

